Adventures, Differences

Exams, refreshers, and husky onesies.

Exam season is officially over and refreshers has begun. Instead of exams being before Christmas break, they were spread throughout a few weeks in January. That being said, it was nice to have more time to revise (study, for all you americans) instead of going through the exam and pre-christmas stress. I had three exams, all were two hours in which I had to write two essays. I didn’t know what the questions were going to be, but I had a general idea.

Side note: In one of my essays, and I’m not ashamed of this, I wrote about The Graduate and how it changed Hollywood, so I ended it with “The Graduate was one small step for film, one giant leap for Hollywood cinema.” I mean hey, The Graduate came out only two years before the moon landing so it was definitely appropriate.

Overall, I think I did pretty good and plus, you only need 40% to pass and your marks this year don’t actually count towards your final degree. 40% seems very low, and it is, but they use a different grading system here. A  52-58 is a lower division Second Class degree (or a 2:2), 62-68 is a higher division Second Class degree (or a 2:1), and a 72-85 is a First Class degree (or a 1st). It’s different and it still confuses me, but it works.

Now on to refreshers, and to explain that, I should probably explain what freshers is first. Freshers is the first two weeks of uni where the uni hosts a different event/party every night. It’s basically like being drunk for two whole weeks. Refreshers is that again, except after exam season and it’s only one week. On my first night out someone came up to me and told me it was my birthday, so I went with it and told everyone, and I mean everyone, that it was my birthday. Someone gave me a fake rose and now it’s on my wall in my room. So it was fun to have my birthday a little early this year. Monday night was Aniball so I wore a siberian husky onesie (and no Charlie, I was not a cat). Despite how hot it was, it was really fun to go out in a onesie, plus unlike all women’s clothes these days, it had pockets! We ending Monday night with cheesy chips and curry from Swansea Kebabs. Ten out of ten recommend. Tuesday was a snapback party at the on-campus club (you read that right, the on-campus club) called Diva’s. Yes, I wore a snapback (thanks James!) and it didn’t suit me, but frankly I don’t really know who looks good in a snapback. Wednesday night everyone wore black Welsh Varsity shirts that came with our refreshers band and hit the town. The shirts are for the Swansea vs. Cardiff rugby game coming up (it’s a pretty big deal). Wednesday night I stayed in and watched a documentary about North Korea and then fell asleep to Bob’s Burgers. I what you’re thinking, I’m an animal. Tonight is the last night for refreshers and it’s at Diva’s, but on Friday’s it takes the name of Tooters (like Hooters, but also £2 for 2 drinks). It’s been a good week! Classes start again next week and then it’s back to reality.

IMG_0711 IMG_0722  IMG_0760IMG_0779IMG_0799IMG_0809

Standard

Leave a Reply

