Thoughts & Rants

A Quick Wednesday Update

Hello dear reader! It’s been awhile. How are the wife and kids? Don’t have either of those? Then darling reader, how are you? Now let’s move on to more important topics, me. Haha I’m only joking, not more important, the most important.  Anyway, I’m back in America now. Jet lag, reverse culture shock, strep throat; I had the whole package. The second I stepped off of the plane, the first thing I noticed was how loud everyone talks (and with that familiar midwestern accent). Basically everything is bigger. Cars, food, thighs, number of people with the crippling dissatisfaction of suburban lifestyle, you name it. Lately, the thing that I’m trying to work out is my relationship with America. What surprised me is that a lot of people in the UK told me that they want to live in America, go to America, have my accent, etc. This is probably me being ignorant about the great country I live in, but I have never looked at it that way. I thought everyone in the UK wouldn’t want to live in America. Don’t they know that we all want their accents and their tea making skills? But really, I was never a big fan of the US, but now seeing it in a way where people want to live here, I have mixed feelings about it. We have 50 states, you can drive to all of them (with enough gas money and patience) and you’re still in the same country. It’s pretty cool. Is it my view of America that’s biased because I grew up here, or is their view biased because all they really see of the country is California and New York in movies? I thought coming home might help me decide how I feel about the US, but I still don’t know. We have a lot of great things that the UK doesn’t, like 24 hour diners, roads that can fit two cars at once, and big shopping malls, but that doesn’t quite do it for me. I haven’t seen enough of the United Kingdom to know which place I like better, but for this time in my life, I’d rather be over there. I left Minnesota  so that I wouldn’t grow to hate it. I got out so that I can appreciate it more. And now being home again, I do. Now here’s a song that’s depressing, slightly funny, and oddly appropriate for this post all at the same time! Song of the day: Bored in the USA

Standard

6 thoughts on “A Quick Wednesday Update

  1. Justin L says:

    Maybe, no matter how much we tend to hate where we reside, there still really is no place like home. I love how your blog post makes the reader ponder about home and the places we visit. Thumbs up 🙂

    Like

  2. Gary Ostberg says:

    After traveling to so many places around this globe…seeing such different cultures, languages, riches and stark real poverty…our country is so amazing! WBL is such a special place in America…the 4 season beauty around Bald Eagle Lake still takes my breath away…nothing like home. Then I think of the Grand Canyon, the California coast, the white sand beaches of the Gulf coast, the Rocky Mountains, the Boundary Waters of Minnesota…sigh. I do love the Moors of Scotland, and the little pub in Invergarry was a place that has no comparable flavor and atmosphere. You are lucky to share such fun times at such a young age, safe travels Andie.

    Like

  3. Robert says:

    i enjoyed your blog. The important thing to keep in mind in your travels is that people in foreign countries typically have a very distorted idea of what life is like in the US because they only experience it indirectly. For example one of the most common ways for an American family to go bankrupt and lose everything including the house is through medical bills. This never happens in the UK and our media does not cover it either. Health care in the US ranks 38th world wide. People in the UK live longer and are in better health than Americans and yet pay about half what we pay for medical care. But you would think our medicine was tops since we are the source of medical dramas like House and ER and so on.

    When I visited Spain many years ago the hit TV series Dallas was just then dubbed into Spanish and was the popular TV show there. I explained to the Spanish girls there that I lived in Rhode Island and had grown up near New York City… And they replied “oh so you you live near Dallas then?” I tried to explain that I did not live near Dallas. But they could not fathom this. As far as they were concerned Dallas was the center of American culture. And so one replied finally: “so you you don’t live in Dallas, but you do go there on the weekends?”

    I mention this because in your travels you will find that people think they know America because of what they see in the movies and on TV. But they really have no idea what life is like here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

